top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureG. Owen Wears

In the Beginning...

In the beginning there was a blank screen and a little blinking icon. That's always the way it is, nothing but the blink, blink, blink of potential. Thousands of hours and much typing later a book emerges. Of course it’s never that simple. If it was everyone would write novels. After the book has been complete there are revisions to be made. After the revisions are make, well, sometimes there are even more revisions that need to be implemented. Sometimes the book needs to be put away and so that it can be viewed with different eyes months or years down the road. Eventually, however, the book manages to find its way to a copy editor. After all the spelling and grammatical errors are dealt with that self same book is still far from complete.

When I first decided that I wanted to earn money for telling stories I was already an adult with a career. It wasn’t a very good career, mind you, and was more the result of me falling ass-backwards into an industry I had entered right out of college. While I enjoy working in print production some days I find it infuriating that I’m working to produce other people’s material instead of my own. That sort of thought process led me begin self publishing in January of 2015. I began with an anthology entitled EXTERUS, hence the name of this website. Since then I’ve switched my focus to novel writing. Though I love the short story there is only a small market for them. Since I want my work to be as widely read as possible the novel is the way to go.

Currently I’ve managed to produce two short novels under my own name and another under my pseudonym Linus de Beville. There are two more books in the works and a whole host of others not far behind. If you are a fan of mid 20th century fantasy and science fiction then you might enjoy some of the stories that have come out of my head. I urge you to look up my author profile on Amazon, along with that of my pseudonym, and read some of the sample chapters available there.

Thank you for taking the time to stop by and I hope to see you again soon.

G. Owen Wears

13 views0 comments
bottom of page